Press Releases Women of Europe Awards 2019: Jury and Nominees Announced

Women of Europe Awards 2019: Jury and Nominees Announced

Women of Europe Awards 2019: Jury and Nominees Announced

Brussels, 15.10.19: On 4 December 2019, the European Movement International and the European Women’s Lobby will host the fourth edition of the Women of Europe Awards.

It is such an honour to be actively involved with the Women of Europe Awards, whose jury I have chaired since 2017. The awards help shed a light on the successful women who are shaping our society with their achievements, passion and ideas. We should never underestimate the power and influence that women can have in bringing about positive change in politics, in economics, and in our society at large. However, our work is far from finished,” said Eva Maydell, MEP and President of the European Movement International.

The Women of Europe Awards are awarded in four categories:

Woman in Power | showing extraordinary political leadership in Europe.

Woman in Action | undertaking extraordinary actions at the grassroots level in Europe.

Woman in Business | advancing European integration with an entrepreneurial spirit.

Woman in Youth Activism | for women aged 15 to 30 strengthening the voice of young women in Europe.


The complete list of jury members for the 2019 Women of Europe Awards:

Eva Maydell – MEP, EPP, President of European Movement International

Gwendoline Lefebvre – President, European Women’s Lobby

Kim van Sparrentak – MEP, European Greens

Helen McEntee – Minister for European Affairs, Department of the Taoiseach

Jennifer Baker – Freelance Journalist & EU Correspondent, Euractiv, Euronews, TheNextWeb, IAPP, BBC radio

Gloria Mills – ETUC Women’s Committee President

Veronika Pountcheva – Global Director for Corporate Responsibility & Senior Vice President METRO AG

Barbara Hendricks – Singer & Activist

Dilek Aydın – TÜSİAD Representative to the EU & BUSINESSEUROPE

Lauren Burge – Managing Director and Head of Corporate Reputation, FTI Consulting Brussels


The complete list of nominees per category for the 2019 Women of Europe Awards, presented in random order:


Isabelle A.J. Durant – Deputy Secretary-General of UNCTAD

Mairead McGuinness – First Vice President of the European Parliament

Amélie de Montchalin – Secretary of State for European Affairs

Franziska Brantner – Member of German Parliament

Milena Angelova – Vice President of the European Economic and Social Committee

Anna Ascani – Vice President of the Italian Democratic Party

Laura Codruța Kövesi – Chief EU Public Prosecutor Elect

Tuula Haatainen – Finnish Politician

Mary Honeyball – Former British MEP

Heléne Fritzon – Swedish MEP

Marija Pejčinović Burić – Secretary-General of the Council of Europe



Anila Noor – Human Rights Activist

Katharina Wolf – Founder of the Europe Union of Saxony

Vicky Phelan – A voice for women in medical malpractice

Nora Hamadi – French Journalist

Laurence Aubron – Founder and Director of EURADIO

Gals4Gals Lodz / Lodzkie Dziewuchy Dziewuchom – Polish Feminist Collective

Véronique Desbrosses – General Manager of GESAC

Carlotta Sami – Director of Communications and Spokeswoman for Southern Europe in UNCHR

Antonella Valmorbida – Secretary-General of ALDA

Petra Laiti – Indigenous Rights Activist

Elizabeth Law – Irish Women’s Rights Activist

Teresa Freixes Sanjuan – Professor, Jean Monet Chair ad Personam

Eva Truuverk – Co-Founder of “Let’s Do it!” Movement

Milena Kadievam – Human Rights Lawyer

Alliance For Choice (AFC) – Northern Irish Feminist Collective



Lubov Popova – Vice-President of EVBB

Christine Bosse – President of European Movement Denmark

Gunilla Almgren – President of Small Business Standards (SBS)

Eleonora Azzaoui & Vera Günther – Founders of Mimycri

Helen Dixon – Data Protection Commissioner for Ireland

Marie-Béatrice Levaux – President of FEPEM

Heli Kurjanen – Founder of Lune Group LTD.

Katia Sagrafena – Co-Founder of Vetrya



Síona Cahill – President of the Union of Students of Ireland

Greta Thunberg – Swedish Climate Change Activist

Ariane Forgues – French Activist

Kira Peter-Hansen – Danish MEP

Elitsa Hadzhieva – Advocator for the European Project

Colombe Cahen-Salvador – Co-Founder of Volt Europa

Johanna Nejedlová – Co-Founder of KONSENT


About the Women of Europe Awards
The Women of Europe Awards are handed out annually to honour and celebrate women striving to advance the European project in their professional or private capacity. In Europe, the role of women remains largely unrecognised and still needs to be supported, highlighted and increasingly recognised. As such, the awards showcase vital contributions of women and seek to increase women’s presence and involvement in shaping Europe and its future.


Press contact

Christian Skrivervik – Head of Press and Communications, European Movement International

For more information about the Women of Europe Awards 2019, please click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *